Colloque en ligne – 95th Annual Meeting of the Medieval Academy of America Virtual Version

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEDIEVAL ACADEMY OF AMERICA
VIRTUAL VERSION, MARCH 27-29, 2020

Attendees at these online sessions will be able to use the « raise hand » feature to ask a question when called on. Please note that the Professional Behavior Policy applies.

header

Introductory Material

Programme :

These pre-recorded contributions to the virtual program may be viewed at any time.  Just click on the links below and enjoy!
Two of the four plenarists chose to pre-record their lectures. These have been posted on the Medieval Academy’s YouTube channel:
Opening Plenary: Peggy McCracken (Mary Fair Croushore Professor of Humanities; Professor of French, Women’s Studies, and Comparative Literature; and Director, Institute for the Humanities, University of Michigan), « The Feelings of Natural Objects: Animacy, Ecology, and Phaeton’s Crash » [Cancelled]
CARA-MAP Plenary: Kim M. Phillips (Associate Professor of History, University of Auckland), « Gendering the Medieval Expansion of Europe: Men Washed Up« 
Fellows Plenary: 
Introduction: Maureen C. Miller, University of California, Berkeley

Teofilo F. Ruiz
(Distinguished Professor & Robert and Dorothy Wellman Chair in Medieval History, University of California, Los Angeles), « Two Families and One Artist on the Eve of the Expulsion: Jews, Conversos, Foreigners and Muslims Living in Avila, 1440s-1492″

Poster Sessions from the UC Berkeley Heavenly Bodies Freshman-Sophomore Seminar:
Introduction:  Reconsidering Heavenly Bodies

Poster Session: Dorian Cole, « She is Clothed in Strength and Dignity: Joan of Arc at the Met »

Poster Session: Emily Su, « Alexander McQueen’s Lochner Dress: Changing Identities and the Heavenly Bodies Exhibit« 

REAL-TIME WEBINAR PLENARY, SESSIONS, AND MEETINGS, 27-29 MARCH 2020

Event times are given below first in Eastern Daylight Time, then other North American time zones, then Greenwich Mean Time.  To attend, click on the zoom link at the day / time of the webinar.

Friday March 27

12noon-1:30pm EDT [11am-12:30pm CDT; 10-11:30am MDT; 9-10:30am PDT; 4-5:30pm GMT]:
OPENING AND PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS
https://zoom.us/j/931678762

Welcome and Opening Remarks

Ruth Mazo Karras, Lecky Professor of History, Trinity College Dublin and President, Medieval Academy of America

Maureen C. Miller, Professor of History, University of California, Berkeley; Co-Chair of the Program Committee

Introduction: Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski, Distinguished Professor Emerita, University of Pittsburgh, First Vice-President, Medieval Academy of America

Presidential Address: Ruth Mazo Karras, Lecky Professor of History, Trinity College Dublin, President, Medieval Academy of America

The Regulation of Sexuality in the Twelfth Century?

2-3:30pm EDT [1-2:30pm CDT; 12-1:30pm MDT; 11am-12:30pm PDT; 6-7:30pm GMT]
SESSION IN HONOR OF MAA PRESIDING PRESIDENT RUTH MAZO KARRAS
https://zoom.us/j/758845579

Masculinities and Cultural Translation
Chair: Jerome Singerman, University of Pennsylvania Press

Dark Age Jesus – Lynda L. Coon, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
The Monastic Culture of Sodomy – Dyan Elliott, Northwestern University

4-5:30pm EST [3-4:30pm CDT; 2-3:30pm MDT; 1-2:30pm PDT; 8-9:30pm GMT]
CONCURRENT SESSIONS I

I.1 The Society for the Promotion of Eriugenian Studies at 50
https://zoom.us/j/440368337 
Chair: Niklaus Largier, University of California, Berkeley

The Twists and Turns in Eriugena’s Path as Translator of the Pseudo-Dionysius –
Mark Zier, Independent Scholar
Eriugena on the Nature of ‘Nothing’ (Nihil) and the Modes of ‘Non-Being’ (non esse) – Dermot Moran, Boston College
Eriugena’s Periphyseon as an Exercise in Thinking Nature – Willemien Otten, Divinity School, University of Chicago and President of the Society for the Promotion of Eriugenian Studies

I.2 Poetics, Proverbs, and Aesthetics
https://zoom.us/j/980756259
Chair: Neslihan Senocak, Columbia University

Roger Bacon’s Poetics: Nostalgia as Progressive Reform – C. Stephen Jaeger, University of Illinois, Urbana/Champaign
Proverbs and Intertextual Debating in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales – Johanna Kramer, University of Missouri-Columbia
Comme s’il estoit vif: Peacocks, Natural Philosophy and the Edible Art of Altering Nature – Eileen Morgan, University of Notre Dame (Winner of an MAA Annual Meeting Bursary)

6-7:30pm EST [5-6:30pm CDT; 4-5:30pm MDT; 3-4:30pm PDT; 10-11:30pm GMT]
CONCURRENT SESSIONS II

II.1 Translation and Literary/Textual Transmission across Religio-Cultural Spheres: The Vernacular and Contested Territories of Learning: England, Italy, France
https://zoom.us/j/210827595
Chair: Alison Cornish, New York University

What Did the Medieval Laity Hear When They Heard Latin?  – Christopher Cannon, Johns Hopkins University
Dante’s Vita nova: A Vernacular School Text   – Filippo Gianferrari, University of California, Santa Cruz
Rhyming Reason: Latin Verse Grammars and Vernacular Poetic Practice  – Christopher Davis, Northwestern University

II.2 Narrative of the Dead: Liturgies, Tomb Effigies, and Embodied Materiality as Memory
https://zoom.us/j/283423897
Chair: Martha Newman, University of Texas, Austin

La belle inconnue: Reinscribing the History of a Forgotten EffigyKavita Finn, Simmons University
Relics of the Flood: Material Experience and Understanding in the Old English Andreas – Celine Vezina, Yale University

Saturday March 28

12noon-1:30pm EDT [11am-12:30pm CDT; 10-11:30am MDT; 9-10:30am PDT; 4-5:30pm GMT]
CONCURRENT SESSIONS III

III.1 Law and Sovereignty in the Medieval State: The Legal Landscape of Early Medieval North-Central Italy
https://zoom.us/j/672274909
Chair: Maya Maskarinec, University of Southern California

‘Secular’ Legislation in the Service of Ecclesiastical Law at the Monastery of Monte
Amiata: Abbot Winizo’s Petition to Count Hildebrand in the Early 11th Century –
Maya Maskarinec, University of Southern California
Episcopal Jurisdiction and Legal Practice in Carolingian TuscanyMichael Heil, University of Arkansas, Little Rock
Law and Capitulary: Lombard Law-Books in the Long Tenth Century – Thom Gobbitt, Austrian Academy of Sciences
Comment: Helmut Reimitz, Princeton University

III.2 Manuscripts, Documents, and Space
https://zoom.us/j/195866303

 Chair: Myriah Williams, University of California, Berkeley

Sir John Prise and his Books: Medieval Manuscripts on the Welsh Borders – Helen Fulton, University of Bristol
The Making of a Sanctuary: Church Consecration and the Functionality of Sacred Space in
Post-Carolingian Catalonia, 850-1100  –
Adam Matthews, Columbia University
Competition and Adaptation in the Reign of Arnulf of Carinthia, 887-899 – Jonathan Dell’Isola, The Catholic University of America

2-3:30pm EDT [1-2:30pm CDT; 12-1:30pm MDT; 11am-12:30pm PDT; 6-7:30pm GMT]
MAA Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony
https://zoom.us/j/664408665
Awarding of MAA Book Prizes, CARA Prizes, Student Bursaries, Inclusivity and Diversity
Travel Grants, followed by Annual Reports

4-5:30pm EDT [3-4:30pm CDT; 2-3:30pm MDT; 1-2:30pm PDT; 8-9:30pm GMT]
CONCURRENT SESSIONS IV

IV.1 Pan-Mediterranean Dialogues: Natural Sciences: Scientific Exchanges and Medical Knowledge
https://zoom.us/j/832216276

Chair: Taylor McCall, Associate Editor, Speculum, Medieval Academy of America

Persian Alchemy in Greek Letters and Late Byzantine Engagement with Science from Abroad – Alexandre Roberts, University of Southern California
The Early Articella and the School of Salerno: Formation of a Medical Curriculum c. 1075-1150 CE F. Eliza Glaze, Coastal Carolina University, co-presenting with Frances Newton, Duke University
“Anima non tangit corpus”: On Non-Natural Movement Between Avicenna, Taddeo Alderotti, and Guido Guinizzelli – Matteo Pace, Connecticut College
The Articella and the Urine Flask: Inventions in Response to Medieval Mediterranean Medicine –  Robin Reich, Columbia University

IV.2 Medieval Temporalities and Christian Interpretation
https://zoom.us/j/607492039
Chair: Marian Homans-Turnbull, University of California, Berkeley

Temporal Ascent: Considering the Visual Traditions of the Gradual Psalms in Relation to
Devotional Time –
Maggie Crosland, Courtauld Institute of Art
The Temporality of Trauma: Defective Exegesis and the Collapse of Supersessionist
Identity in the Perslesvaus –
Adrian McClure, Purdue University
Time and Devotional Poetics in John Lydgate’s Kalendarium – Joanna Murdoch, Duke University (Winner of an MAA Annual Meeting Bursary)

6-7:30pm EST [5-6:30pm CDT; 4-5:30pm MDT; 3-4:30pm PDT; 10-11:30pm GMT]
CONCURRENT SESSIONS V

V.1 Multilingualism, Multiculturalism, Multiconfessionalism in the Medieval Mediterranean: Muslim, Jewish, and Christian Retellings of the Hebrew Bible in the Medieval Mediterranean
https://zoom.us/j/692984398

Chair: David Wacks, University of Oregon

Prophetic Paragons in a “World of Others’ Words” – Andrea Pauw, University of Virginia Toronto (Winner of an MAA Annual Meeting Bursary)
The First Pregnancy of Eve: An Exegetical Conundrum – Skyler Anderson, Princeton University
Jewish, Muslim, and Christian Retellings of the Abraham and Sarah Story in Medieval Iberia – David Wacks, University of Oregon
Comment: David Wacks, University of Oregon

V. 2 Walls and Portals: Borders and Limits in Architecture, Law, and the Visual Arts
https://zoom.us/j/524406404

Chair: Henrike Lange, University of California, Berkeley

The Sculpted Zodiac: Bordering Ecclesia and Astrologia? – Shelley Williams, Brigham Young University
Magi on the Wall: Foreigners, Women, Gender and the Definition of Iconophile Orthodoxy – Kriszta Kotsis, University of Puget Sound
The Icon of San Sisto (Rome): Borders and Limits for Viewing the Sacred – Kirstin Noreen, Loyola Marymount University

Sunday, March 29
noon – 4:30 pm
2020 ANNUAL CARA MEETING
https://zoom.us/j/703181015

noon – 12:15 PM: Welcome and Introductions

12:15–2:15 AM: CARA Session: Expanding the MedievALL Conversation: Inclusive Programing
beyond and off the Tenure Track

The year’s CARA Meeting takes up the charge opened to the MAA during the 2019-2020 year to make room for medievalists of all professional standing. Drawing on CARA’s goal of generating greater connectivity between independent, unaffiliated, and practicing medievalists working off the tenure-track to deepen the networks that facilitate the kinds of questions and pursuits ALL medievalists engage, this year’s meeting will address ways of expanding the MedievALL Conversation. To this end, not only will we hear from several panelists who are medievalists by training and intent, but who also pursue professional lives beyond the typical tenure-track. We will also hear from members of the MAA’s Ad Hoc committee on Professional Diversity convened to address all medievalists, and we will discuss ways to implement significant strategic changes to expand the programing of Medieval Centers and Programs to find pathways toward greater inclusivity, inter-connection, and community. We will hear from panelists who can speak to professional lives outside the traditional academic track and will address the mutual benefits of learning what medievalists in all jobs and professional setting do. We will learn how their skills have helped them and what their professional pathways have encouraged them to do that a traditional trajectory would not have. In other words, this CARA conference especially seeks to delve to the very core of CARA’s mission and what it can do to expand the reach and support of medievalists at large. Ours will be, it is hoped, the beginning of a longer, more fruitful, and expansive conversation and commitment as we move toward the MAA’s 2025 Centennial year.

Chair: Anne E. Lester, (Johns Hopkins University) CARA, Chair

Marie Richards, (Independent Scholar), « Medievalists in the Public Sector: Joining the
Foreign Service?”
Alison Walker
, (Independent Scholar), “A Janus-faced Approach to Starting Over: Good
News and Harsh Truths from Beyond the Academy”
Kavita Mundan Finn, (MIT, Independent Scholar), “The Once and Future Fangirl”
Sarah Davis-Secord, (University of New Mexico), “Putting Professional and Career
Diversity into Practice in Graduate Training”
Laura Morreale, (Independent Scholar, Ad Hoc Committee on Professional Diversity,
Chair), « Reaching Medievalists Beyond the Professoriate: Best Practices for CARA
Affiliates

Questions and Discussion

If time and logistics allow, we will open the floor to hear brief programming updates from attendees. In particular, we’d love to hear about how your campus is handling remote learning.

Source : The Medieval Academy of America

A propos RMBLF

Réseau des médiévistes belges de langue française
Cet article a été publié dans Conférences. Ajoutez ce permalien à vos favoris.